
RN/LVN 
Texas Board of Nursing 

333 Guadalupe, Ste. 3-460, Austin, TX 78701-3944 
Phone: 512-305-7400 -- Web Site: www.bon.texas.gov 

Delinquent (Expired) License Renewal Form 

For Office Use Only: 

Amount  

Date Recd  

• This form is to be used once the license has expired.
• Please refer to the enclosed General Instructions, checklist and

statistical code sheet to assist in completing this form.
• Answer all questions, sign, date, and return both pages.

• Processing time is within ten (10) business days once all requirements are
met.

• The Rules pertaining to the maintenance of your license and your eligibility
to renew are located at 22 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) chapter 216
and §§213.27, 213.28, 213.29, 213.33, 217.6 and 217.7.

Continuing Competency Certificates must accompany late renewals (if applicable). Make your check or money order payable to the Texas Board of 
Nursing. Fees are non-refundable.  The application and payment are valid for one year from the date of receipt in the Board’s office and all licensure 

RENEW RN & LVN : 
[   ] LATE RN & LVN RENEWAL (1 to 90 days past expiration date) 
[   ] LATE RN & LVN RENEWAL (OVER 90 days past expiration date) 

RENEW LVN LICENSE ONLY (RN License will be left in delinquent status) : 
[   ] LATE LVN RENEWAL ONLY (1 to 90 days past expiration date) 
[   ] LATE LVN RNEWAL ONLY (OVER 90 days past expiration date) 

RENEW RN LICENSE ONLY (LVN License will be left in delinquent status) : 
Fee:   $232.00 [   ] LATE RN RENEWAL ONLY (1 to 90 days past expiration date) Fee: $128.00 
Fee:   $352.00 [   ] LATE RN RENEWAL ONLY (OVER 90 days past expiration date)     Fee: $188.00 

Fee: $105.00 
Fee: $165.00 

Name(Last): (First): (M): 
Legal documentation is required for a name change (see 22 TAC § 217.7) 

RN and/or LVN License Number: Social Security Number: - - Date of Birth: / /  
Mo Day Yr 

(Address) (City) (State/Country) (Zip/Postal Code) 

**  ( ) 
(E-Mail Address) Business Fax Number 
The email address that you provide to the Board is required in order to schedule fingerprinting for your criminal background check. 
The email address that you provide to the Board is subject to release to the public pursuant to the Texas Public Information Act. 

*For statistical information below, please use the statistical code sheet provided

*Employment Status: *Primary Practice Setting: *Primary Practice Position:

*Primary Specialty: *Highest Degree: *Primary Employment Zip:

In accordance with the Texas Occupations Code, section 304.001, art. 4 and 22 TAC §220.2, check one of the following: 
□ I declare Texas as my primary state of residence and I have provided a Texas address. I am eligible for a Compact

Texas License (I understand that once my Texas license is renewed, my other compact state license(s) will be inactivated, if 
applicable). 

□ I declare Texas as my primary state of residence but I have not provided a Texas address. I am eligible for a Single
State Texas License only. (NOTE: If the address you provide is in a Compact State, the BON may seek clarification prior to renewing 
the license) 

□ I am declaring a Non-Compact State as my primary state of residency. My permanent residence is not Texas, however,
it is a state not participating in the Nurse Licensure Compact (*). I am eligible for a Single State Texas License only.  I declare 
that the State of ________________________________ is my primary state of residence and that such constitutes my 
permanent and principal home for legal purposes. 

□ I am employed exclusively in the US military (Active Duty) or with the U.S. Federal Government and am
requesting a Texas single-state license regardless of my primary state of residence. I declare that the State of 
________________________________ is my primary state of residence and that such constitutes my permanent and principal 
home for legal purposes. 

(*) Refer to https://www.ncsbn.org/nlc.htm for a list of participating compact states and more detailed information about 
the Nurse Licensure Compact. 

NOTE: If you are declaring a Compact State, other than Texas, then you are not eligible to renew your Texas nursing 
license. You should contact the nursing board of the state which you are declaring and seek guidance in either 
renewing that nursing license or obtaining an initial license. 

[  ]  No [  ]  Yes  Have you practiced nursing by using your nursing knowledge, skills and abilities within the past four (4) 
years? 

In which states are you currently practicing nursing electronically ,  

telephonically _____________________, or physically______________________________. List all states that apply. 



Licensee’s Name: License Number(s): Page 2 of 2 

Eligibility Questions - Answering the questions below and signing the form is mandatory. 

1) [ ] No  [  ]  Yes  *Have you, within the past 24 months or since your last renewal, for any criminal offense, including those
pending appeal: 

A. been arrested and have any pending criminal charges?
B. been convicted of a misdemeanor?
C. been convicted of a felony?
D. pled nolo contendere, no contest, or guilty?
E. received deferred adjudication?
F. been placed on community supervision or court-ordered probation, whether or not adjudicated

guilty?
G. been sentenced to serve jail, prison time, or court-ordered confinement?
H. been granted pre-trial diversion?
I. been cited or charged with any violation of the law?
J. been subject of a court-martial; Article 15 violation; or received any form of military judgment/

punishment/action?

(You may only exclude Class C misdemeanor traffic violations or offenses previously disclosed to the Texas Board of 
Nursing on an initial licensure or renewal application.) 

NOTE: Expunged and Sealed Offenses: While expunged or sealed offenses, arrests, tickets, or citations need not be disclosed, it is 
your responsibility to ensure the offense, arrest, ticket or citation has, in fact, been expunged or sealed. It is recommended that you 
submit a copy of the Court Order expunging or sealing the record in question to our office with your application. Failure to reveal an 
offense, arrest, ticket, or citation that is not in fact expunged or sealed may subject your license to a disciplinary order and fine. Non- 
disclosure of relevant offenses raises questions related to truthfulness and character. (See 22 TAC §213.27) 
NOTE: Orders of Non-Disclosure: Pursuant to Tex. Gov’t Code § 552.142(b), if you have criminal matters that are the subject of an 
order of non-disclosure you are not required to reveal those criminal matters on this form. However, a criminal matter that is the subject 
of an order of non-disclosure may become a character and fitness issue. Pursuant to the Gov’t Code chapter 411, the Texas Board of 
Nursing is entitled to access criminal history record information that is the subject of an order of non-disclosure. If the Board discovers 
a criminal matter that is the subject of an order of non-disclosure, even if you properly did not reveal that matter, the Board may require 
you to provide information about any conduct that raises issues of character and fitness. 

2) [  ] No   [  ] Yes *Are you currently the target or subject of a grand jury or governmental agency investigation?

3) [ ] No [ ] Yes Has any licensing ever authority refused to issue you a license or ever revoked, annulled, cancelled,
accepted surrender of, suspended, placed on probation, refused to renew a license, certificate, or multi- 
state privilege held by you now or previously, or ever fined, censured, reprimanded, or otherwise disciplined
you? (You may exclude disciplinary actions issued by the Texas Board of Nursing and disciplinary actions
previously disclosed to the Texas Board of Nursing on an initial licensure or renewal application.)

4) [ ] No [ ] Yes *In the past 5 years, have you been diagnosed with or treated or hospitalized for schizophrenia or other
psychotic disorder, bipolar disorder, paranoid personality disorder, antisocial personality disorder, or
borderline personality disorder which impaired or does impair your behavior, judgment, or ability to
function in school or work? (You may answer “No” if you have completed and/or are in compliance with
TPAPN for mental illness OR you’ve previously disclosed to the Texas Board of Nursing and have
remained compliant with your treatment regime and have had no further hospitalization since disclosure.)

5) [  ] No   [  ] Yes *In the past 5 years, have you been addicted to or treated for the use of alcohol or any other drug? (You
may answer “No” if you have completed and/or are in compliance with TPAPN)

I attest that I understand and meet all the requirements to practice for the type of renewal requested. I understand that no one else 
may submit this form on my behalf and that I am accountable and responsible for the accuracy of any answer or statement on this 
form. Further, I understand that it is a violation of 22 TAC §217.12(6) (I) and the Penal Code, sec. 37.10, to submit a false statement 
to a governmental agency. 

Sign: Date: 
(SIGNATURE REQUIRED) 

*Pursuant to the Texas Occupations Code §301.207, information, including diagnosis and treatment, regarding an individual’s physical or mental
condition, intemperate use of drugs or alcohol, or chemical dependency and information regarding an individual’s criminal history is confidential
to the same extent that information collected as part of an investigation is confidential under the Texas Occupations Code §301.466.

NOTE: IF YOU ANSWERED “YES” TO #1-5 PLEASE REFER TO INSTRUCTIONS Revised 8/2019



STATISTICAL CODES 
 
 

HIGHEST DEGREE 
 

1 = DIPLOMA 
2 = ASSOCIATE DEGREE 
3 = BACCALAUREATE IN NURSING 
5 = MASTERS IN NURSING 
7 = DOCTORATE IN NURSING 
9 = VOCATIONAL NURSE/PRACTICAL NURSE PROGRAM 

 
 

EMPLOYMENT STATUS 
 

1 = EMPLOYED IN NURSING FULL TIME 
2 = EMPLOYED IN NURSING PART TIME 
3 = EMPLOYED IN OTHER FIELD FULL TIME 
4 = EMPLOYED IN OTHER FIELD PART TIME 
5 = UNEMPLOYED, RETIRED OR INACTIVE 

 
 

PRIMARY PRACTICE SETTING: 

PRIMARY PRACTICE POSITION: 
 

1 =   ADMINISTRATOR OR ASSISTANT 
2 =   CONSULTANT 
3 =   SUPERVISOR OR ASSISTANT 
4 =   FACULTY/EDUCATOR 
5 =   HEAD NURSE OR ASSISTANT 
6 =   STAFF NURSE/GENERAL DUTY 
*7 =  NURSE PRACTITIONER 
*8 =  CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST 
*9 =  NURSE ANESTHETIST 
*10 = NURSE MIDWIFE 
11 =  INSERVICE/STAFF DEVELOPMENT 
12 =  SCHOOL NURSE 
13 =  OFFICE NURSE 
14 =  RESEARCHER 
15 =  OTHER:   

 
* TEXAS BOARD OF NURSING APPROVAL REQUIRED 

 

1 = INPATIENT HOSPITAL CARE PRIMARY SPECIALTY: 
2 = OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL CARE 
3 = SCHOOL OF NURSING 1 = COMMUNITY/PUBLIC HEALTH 
4 = COMMUNITY/PUBLIC HEALTH 2 = GENERAL PRACTICE 
5 = SCHOOL/COLLEGE HEALTH 3 = GERIATRICS
6 = SELF-EMPLOYED/PRIVATE PRACTICE 4 = OBSTETRICS/GYNECOLOGY 
7 = PHYSICIAN OR DENTIST/PRIVATE PRACTICE 5 = MEDICAL/SURGICAL 
8 = RURAL HEALTH CLINIC 6 = PEDIATRICS
9 = FREESTANDING CLINIC 7 = PSYCHIATRIC/MENTAL HEALTH/SUBSTANCE ABUSE
10 = HOME HEALTH AGENCY 8 = ANESTHESIA
11 = MILITARY INSTALLATION 9 = EMERGENCY CARE 
12 = TEMPORARY AGENCY/NURSING POOL 10 = HOME HEALTH
13 = NURSING HOME/EXTENDED CARE FACILITY 11 = INTENSIVE/CRITICAL CARE 
14 = BUSINESS/INDUSTRY 12 = NEONATOLOGY
15 = OTHER:   13 = ONCOLOGY

14 = OPERATING/RECOVERY CARE 
15 = REHABILITATION
16 = OCCUPATIONAL/ENVIRONMENTAL    HEALTH

  17 = OTHER:



GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 
(Do not return this sheet) 

 
 
In order to maintain your license, you must meet the requirements of 22 TAC Chapter 216, and §§213.27, 213.28, 213.29, 213.33, 
and 217.7, as applicable, and pay the appropriate fee. "A registered nurse who practices professional nursing or a vocational nurse 
who practices vocational nursing after the expiration of the nurse’s license is an illegal practitioner whose license may be revoked 
or suspended.” Texas Occupations Code §301.301(f). 
 
 

ACTIVE APPLICATIONS 
 

An application and payment are considered to be active for up to one year from the date of receipt in the Board’s office per our Records 
Retention Policy. All licensure requirements must be met within that year’s timeframe or the application and payment will be considered 
null and void. Should this occur, a new application and payment would need to be submitted; and the nurse will need to meet all current 
requirements in effect at that time. 
 
 

PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE 
 
Declaring a compact state, other than Texas, will cause your renewal to be rejected since you can practice in Texas on your declared 
compact state license. In addition, the BON reserves the right to seek clarification when needed. Per Rule 220.2(b), primary state of 
residence is determined by the following documents and you may be requested to submit one or more to satisfy residency requirements: 
 
(1) a driver’s license with a home address; 
(2) voter registration card displaying a home address; 
(3) federal income tax return declaring the primary state of residence; 
(4) Military Form No. 2058 - state of legal residence certificate; or 
(5) W2 from US Government or any bureau, division or agency thereof indicating the declared state of residence. 
 
 
For more information regarding the compact, visit our website at www.bon.texas.gov or the National Council of State Boards of 
Nursing’s website at https://www.ncsbn.org/nlc.htm.  

 
CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

Attach 20 contact hours of continuing competency certificates that meet the Board’s criteria set out in 22 TAC Chapter 216, 
awarded within two years immediately preceding this license renewal form. 

 
Note: If this is the first time renewal of your Texas nursing license, and your license has been expired for less than 90 days, 
then the Continuing Competency (CC) requirements are waived. 

 
 

NAME CHANGE 
 

For name change, you must submit a copy of legal documentation, (e.g., marriage license, divorce decree, corrected driver’s 
license) which states the name change. 

 
 

COPIES OF LICENSES 
 

Reminder: No More Paper Licenses Upon Renewal After September 1, 2008. The Board of Nursing discontinued issuing 
wallet-sized paper licenses for nurses renewing their licenses after September 1, 2008. Nurses and nurse employers should go to 
the Board’s website at www.bon.texas.gov to verify a license online. The verification, once printed, will resemble a license and 
will allow you to have the document laminated for the purpose of carrying. 

 
 
 
 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK 
 

If you have not previously completed a criminal background check for the Texas Board of Nursing, or the BON does not have a 
disposition with a state identification number on file for fingerprints previously submitted, you may be required to complete the process 
at this time. You will be notified by our office if this is a requirement. 
 



 
 
 

 
INFORMATION FOR NURSES WHOSE LICENSES HAVE BEEN EXPIRED FOR  

FOUR YEARS OR LONGER 
 

REFRESHER COURSE 
 

1) If your Texas RN license has been expired for more than four years, and you have practiced as a registered nurse in 
another state within the last four (4) years, then you must comply with Rule 217.6 (d) which requires the completion of the 
Texas Nursing Jurisprudence Exam (NJE) in addition to one of the following: the online Texas Board of Nursing 
Jurisprudence Prep Course, the Texas Board of Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics Workshop, or a Texas Board of Nursing 
approved Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics course. It is your responsibility to submit both of the completion certificates (NJE 
and choice of prep course/workshop/course) to our office. Your RN license cannot be renewed until all requirements are 
met. 

 
The following links provide more information: (Rules and Regulations) 
http://www.bon.texas.gov/nursinglaw/rr.html, (NJE) http://www.bon.texas.gov/olv/je.html, (NJE Prep Course) 
http://www.bon.texas.gov/olv/je-course.html, (Workshop/Course) 
http://www.bon.texas.gov/disciplinaryaction/stipscourses.html. 

 
 

You will be granted access to the NJE within ten (10) business days of the date the Board receives the Delinquent Renewal 
form.  
 
2) If your Texas RN license has been expired for more than four years, and you have not practiced as a registered nurse 

in another state within the last four (4) years, then you must comply with Rule 217.6 (b). You will need to apply for a  Six-
Month Temporary Permit (http://www.bon.texas.gov/olv/pdfs/6mth-rn.pdf) and complete a Board approved refresher course, 
extensive orientation, or nursing program of study. You must also complete the Texas Nursing Jurisprudence Exam (NJE) in 
addition to one of the following: the online Texas Board of Nursing Jurisprudence Prep Course, the Texas Board of Nursing 
Jurisprudence and Ethics Workshop, or a Texas Board of Nursing approved Nursing Jurisprudence and Ethics course. It is 
your responsibility to submit both of the completion certificates (NJE and choice of prep course/workshop/course) to our 
office. Your RN license cannot be renewed until all requirements are met. 

 
 

The following links provide more information: (Rules and Regulations) 
http://www.bon.texas.gov/nursinglaw/rr.html, (NJE) http://www.bon.texas.gov/olv/je.html, (NJE Prep Course) 
http://www.bon.texas.gov/olv/je-course.html, (Workshop/Course) 
http://www.bon.texas.gov/disciplinaryaction/stipscourses.html. 

 
 

You will be granted access to the NJE within ten (10) business days of the date the Board receives the 6 Month Temporary Permit 
Application. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Delinquent Renewal Form Checklist - (Do not return this sheet) 
 

   Checked type of renewal? 
   Have you answered all the questions on the renewal form? 
   Have you signed and dated the renewal form? 
   Have you enclosed the appropriate fee? 
   Have you attached documentation of twenty (20) contact hours of Continuing Competency credits that meet 

the criteria in 22 TAC Chapter 216 (if applicable)? 
   Did you read the instructions regarding Primary State of Residence? Note: Declaring a compact state, other 

than Texas, will cause your renewal to be rejected. 
   Have you read the section regarding the refresher courses and completed the requirements as applicable? 

 
  



 
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS - Continued 

 
If you answered yes to questions 1-5 of the Eligibility Questions on page 2, you must provide the Board with the 
following information: 

 

*QUESTION #1 The Board has determined that criminal behavior is highly relevant to an individual’s fitness to practice nursing. Therefore, all 
criminal convictions or deferred orders, prosecution, or adjudication-a determination by a court that is withheld or delayed for a specific time 
period, must be reported to the Board. This question includes offenses under the law of another state, federal law, or the Uniform Code of 
Military Justice that contains elements of criminal conduct. SUBMIT a personal letter of explanation describing each incident, the behavior that 
led up to the criminal order and your conduct since the order, and any rehabilitative efforts that have been performed since the order. In 
addition, SUBMIT the following documentation for all felonies, all misdemeanors, and all military actions: 

 
Certified copies of: 

1. charges (indictment, information, or complaint); 
2. disposition of charges (Judgment, Order of Probation, Sentence, and/or Deferred orders); and 
3. evidence that the conditions of the court have been met. 

 
(To obtain this documentation, contact the county clerk in the jurisdiction where the order was issued for misdemeanors; district court clerk 
for felonies. If the record does not exist, you must obtain a statement from that court that the document has been destroyed or could not be 
located.) 

 
You may answer “NO” to the question of prior convictions only if you: (a) received a pardon; or (b) were adjudicated as a minor without a 
finding of “delinquent conduct”. If you were ever required to register as a sex offender, you must answer “YES”. 

 
If you have questions regarding the outcome of any criminal matter, consult your attorney. 

 
 

*QUESTION #2 The Nursing Practice Act provides that a person’s conduct in violation of the Nursing Practice Act or rules of the Board may 
be considered as a factor in its deliberations regarding fitness to practice nursing. Therefore, if a licensee or applicant is the subject of a grand 
jury or governmental agency investigation, the information regarding conduct or behavior giving rise to the investigation may be relevant in 
determining a violation of the Nursing Practice Act or lead to the admissibility of relevant evidence of such violation. If you are the subject of a 
grand jury or governmental agency investigation, please SUBMIT the name and address of the investigating entity and an explanation as to 
the basis of the investigation. 

 
 

QUESTION #3  The Board has determined that if any licensing authority has taken disciplinary action against a person for any reason, then 
those actions are highly relevant to an individual’s current ability to practice nursing in the state of Texas. If any licensing authority has   
refused to issue a license, revoked, annulled, cancelled, accepted surrender of, suspended, placed on probation, refused to renew a license, 
certificate, or multi state privilege held by you or previously fined, censured, reprimanded or otherwise disciplined you, SUBMIT the names and 
address of the licensing authority who has taken action and a letter explaining the background of the action. Additionally, SUBMIT certified 
copies of: 

 
1. formal charges or allegations supporting the licensure action; 
2. final disposition of the licensing authority regarding those formal charges or allegations; and 
3. evidence that the conditions of the licensing authority’s order or requirements have been met. 

 
 

*QUESTION #4 The practice of nursing requires current fitness.  The Board has identified certain disorders which, if occurring within the last 5 
years, may indicate a lack of fitness. The disorders are: schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders, bipolar disorder, paranoid personality 
disorder, anti-social personality disorder, or borderline personality disorder. If you have been diagnosed, treated, or hospitalized for any of  
the above illnesses within the last 5 years, which impaired or does impair your behavior, judgment, or ability to function in school or work, 
submit the following information that will allow the Board to conduct an individualized assessment of your ability to practice safely, 
competently, and without impairment to your professional judgment, skill, or knowledge. 

 
1. A report, on letterhead, from your physician, psychiatrist, psychologist or counselor, sent directly to this office, that includes: your 

diagnosis; treatments rendered; including current medications; prognosis; cognitive, affective, and emotional stability and continuing 
after-care recommendations, including reasonable accommodations needed to safely practice nursing, if any; and, 

2. Verification of compliance with aftercare recommendations. 
 

Please be advised that a physical/psychological evaluation may be requested as part of your individualized assessment. The evaluation 
process is described in more detail at www.bon.texas.gov/disciplinaryaction/eval-guidelines.html. 
The evaluation process could potentially delay consideration of your renewal. Therefore, the Board is providing advance notice of this 
possibility so that applicants may contact the Board to schedule an evaluation at the beginning of the renewal process. By doing so, the 
renewal should not be unduly delayed. An applicant is not required to contact the Board in advance of Board consideration of the renewal. 
The applicant may choose to wait for a specific decision by the Board that a specific evaluation is necessary. This information is being 
provided to put applicants on notice with respect to this potential requirement and afford the applicant the opportunity to expedite the process 
if he/she so desires. 



*QUESTION #5  The practice of nursing requires current sobriety and fitness. If you have been addicted to or treated for the use of alcohol or 
any other drug within the last five years, SUBMIT: 

 
1. verification of treatment for substance abuse sent directly to the Board from the treatment center; 
2. verification of compliance with aftercare recommendations; 
3. evidence of continuing sobriety/abstinence; for example, current support group attendance and random drug testing results; and 
4. a personal letter of explanation with sobriety date and plan for relapse prevention. 

 
 
 

*Pursuant to the Texas Occupations Code §301.207, information, including diagnosis and treatment, regarding an individual’s physical or 
mental condition, intemperate use of drugs or alcohol, or chemical dependency and information regarding an individual’s criminal history is 
confidential to the same extent that information collected as part of an investigation is confidential under the Texas Occupations Code 
§301.466. 
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