
Texas Board of Nursing 
333 Guadalupe, Ste. 3-460, Austin, TX 78701-3944 

Phone: 512-305-7400 -- Web Site: www.bon.texas.gov 
 

Timely License Renewal Form 

This renewal form may only be used for the time period of the 60 days leading up to the license expiration date. Please refer to the enclosed 
detailed instructions, APRN checklist and statistical codes to assist in completing this form. You must answer all questions and sign and 
return this renewal form. Normal processing time is within fifteen business days. If your APRN recognition is not renewed by the expiration 

date, you must cease practice until the recognition has been renewed. Therefore, it is your responsibility to submit the renewal form, 
supporting documents and the required fee early enough to allow sufficient time for processing. The Rules pertaining to the maintenance of 
your license and your eligibility to renew are located at 22 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 216; 221 and 222 (Rx Auth.); and 
§§213.27, 213.28, 213.29, 213.33, 217.6 and 217.7. 

 

In order to avoid any late fees, renewal applications and all pertinent documentation must be postmarked no later than the last day of the month in 

which your nursing license expires. 

Fees are non-refundable.  Make check or money order payable to the Texas Board of Nursing. 

 
RENEW RN & APRN: RENEW RN LICENSE ONLY 

[    ]  TIMELY RN RENEWAL & APRN: Fee: $115.00 [    ]  TIMELY RN RENEWAL ONLY: Fee: $65.00 

(prior to expiration date) (prior to expiration date) 

If renewing RN license ONLY, all APRN titles and associated Rx. Auth will 
be placed in Inactive Status. 

 
PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY (Rx Auth.) RETIRED/INACTIVE 

[    ]  RENEW PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY [    ]  RN & APRN RETIRED LICENSE No Fee Required 

[    ]  INACTIVATE PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY [    ]  RN & APRN INACTIVE STATUS No Fee Required 

    **No fee is required for either** (Must be requested prior to the expiration date and meet the requirements 
of 22 TAC §217.9) 

 
 

 
Name(Last): (First): (M):   

                      Legal documentation is required for a name change (see 22TAC §217.7) 
 
 

RN License Number: Social Security Number: - - Date of Birth: / /   
Mo Day Yr 

 
 

 

(Address) (City) (State/Country) (Zip/Postal Code) 
 

**( ) 
(E-Mail Address) Business Fax Number 

 

*For statistical information, please use the statistical code sheet provided 
 
 

*Employment Status:  *Primary Practice Setting:  *Primary Practice Position:   _____ 
 

*Primary Specialty:  _ *Highest Degree:  _______ Primary Employment Zip:    
 
*APRN Certification Exam:   

 
 
Is your APRN certification current?  [  ] No [  ]  Yes 

 

 
Currently practicing in APRN role, e.g., direct patient care? [  ] Full Time   [  ] Part Time  [  ] No 

 
** Please note that your business fax number is being collected for use by an emergency relief program, as authorized by the Texas Occupations 
Code §301.206 and is confidential and not subject to disclosure. 
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RN/ 

APRN 

For Office Use Only: 

 

Amount      

 
 

Date Rec’d   

http://www.bon.texas.gov/


Licensee’s Name:   License Number:   Page 2 of 3 
 

 

Nurse Licensure Compact: 
 
 

 

In accordance with the Nursing Practice Act, section 304.001, art. 4 and 22 TAC §220.2, check one of the following: 
 
 

□ I declare Texas as my primary state of residence and I have provided a Texas address. I am eligible for a 
Compact Texas License (if applicable, once you receive the Texas license, your other compact state license(s) 
will be inactivated). 

 

□ I declare Texas as my primary state of residence but I have not provided a Texas address. I am eligible for a 
Single State Texas License only. 

 

□ I am declaring a Non-Compact State as my primary state of residency. My permanent residence is not Texas, 
however, it is a state not participating in the Nurse Licensure Compact. I am eligible for a Single State Texas 
License only. (You may visit https://www.ncsbn.org/Implementation_dates_list.pdf for a listing of participating 
states)  I declare that the State  of is my primary state of residence and 
that such constitutes my permanent and principal home for legal purposes. 

 
□ I am declaring another Compact State as my primary state of residency. My permanent residence is not Texas, and 

is a state participating in the Nurse Licensure Compact. Please put my Texas license on Inactive Status. (You may 
visit https://www.ncsbn.org/Implementation_dates_list.pdf for a listing of participating states) I declare that  the 
State of is my primary state of residence and that such constitutes my 
permanent and principal home for legal purposes. 

 
□ I am employed exclusively in the US military (Active Duty) or with the U.S. Federal Government and am 

requesting a Texas single-state license regardless of my primary state of residence. I declare that the 

State of is my primary state of residence and that such constitutes my 

permanent and principal home for legal purposes. 

 

 
Upon licensure in Texas, in which state(s) do you intend to practice (list all states that apply); 

electronically  , 

telephonically                                                                                                                                         , or 

physically  . 

http://www.ncsbn.org/Implementation_dates_list.pdf
http://www.ncsbn.org/Implementation_dates_list.pdf
http://www.ncsbn.org/Implementation_dates_list.pdf
http://www.ncsbn.org/Implementation_dates_list.pdf


Licensee’s Name:   License Number:   Page 3 of 3 
 

 

Eligibility Questions - Answering the questions below and signing the form is mandatory. 

1) [ ] No [ ] Yes *Have you, within the past 24 months or since your last renewal, for any criminal offense, including those 
pending appeal: 

 

A.  been arrested and have any pending criminal charges? 
B. been convicted of a misdemeanor? 
C. been convicted of a felony? 
D. pled nolo contendere, no contest, or guilty? 
E. received deferred adjudication? 

F. been placed on community supervision or court-ordered probation, whether or not adjudicated 
guilty? 

G. been sentenced to serve jail, prison time or court-ordered confinement? 
H. been granted pre-trial diversion? 
I. been cited or charged with any violation of the law? 

J. been subject of a court-martial; Article 15 violation; or received any form of military judgment/ 
punishment/action? 

 
(You may only exclude Class C misdemeanor traffic violations or offenses previously disclosed to the Texas Board of Nursing on an initial 
licensure or renewal application.) 

 

NOTE: Expunged and Sealed Offenses: While expunged or sealed offenses, arrests, tickets, or citations need not be disclosed, it is 

your responsibility to ensure the offense, arrest, ticket or citation has, in fact, been expunged or sealed. It is recommended that you 
submit a copy of the Court Order expunging or sealing the record in question to our office with your application. Failure to reveal an 
offense, arrest, ticket, or citation that is not in fact expunged or sealed may subject your license to a disciplinary order and fine. Non- 
disclosure of relevant offenses raises questions related to truthfulness and character. (See 22 TAC §213.27) 
NOTE: Orders of Non-Disclosure: Pursuant to Tex. Gov’t Code § 552.142(b), if you have criminal matters that are the subject of an 

order of non-disclosure you are not required to reveal those criminal matters on this form. However, a criminal matter that is the subject 
of an order of non-disclosure may become a character and fitness issue. Pursuant to the Gov’t Code chapter 411, the Texas Board of 
Nursing is entitled to access criminal history record information that is the subject of an order of non-disclosure. If the Board discovers 
a criminal matter that is the subject of an order of non-disclosure, even if you properly did not reveal that matter, the Board may require 
you to provide information about any conduct that raises issues of character and fitness. 

 

2) [ ] No [ ] Yes *Are you currently the target or subject of a grand jury or governmental agency investigation? 
 

3) [  ]  No  [  ] Yes Has any licensing authority ever refused to issue you a license or ever revoked, annulled, cancelled, 
accepted surrender of, suspended, placed on probation, refused to renew a license, certificate, or multi- 
state privilege held by you now or previously, or ever fined, censured, reprimanded, or otherwise disciplined 
you? (You may exclude disciplinary actions issued by the Texas Board of Nursing and disciplinary actions 
previously disclosed to the Texas Board of Nursing on an initial licensure or renewal application.) 

 

4) [  ]  No  [  ] Yes *In the past 5 years, have you been diagnosed with or treated or hospitalized for schizophrenia or other 
psychotic disorder, bipolar disorder, paranoid personality disorder, antisocial personality disorder, or 
borderline personality disorder which impaired or does impair your behavior, judgment, or ability to 
function in school or work? (You may answer “No” if you have completed and/or are in compliance with 
TPAPN for mental illness OR you’ve previously disclosed to the Texas Board of Nursing and have 
remained compliant with your treatment regime and have had no further hospitalization since disclosure.) 

 

5) [  ] No [  ] Yes   *In the past 5 years, have you been addicted to or treated for the use of alcohol or any other drug?   (You 
may answer “no” if you have completed and/or are in compliance with TPAPN) 

 

I attest that I understand and meet all the requirements to practice for the type of renewal requested. I understand that no one else 
may submit this form on my behalf and that I am accountable and responsible for the accuracy of any answer or statement on this 
form. Further, I understand that it is a violation of 22 TAC §217.12(6)(I) and the Penal Code, sec. 37.10, to submit a false statement 
to a governmental agency. 

 

Sign: Date:   
(SIGNATURE REQUIRED) 

 

*Pursuant to the Texas Occupations Code §301.207, information, including diagnosis and treatment, regarding an individual’s physical or mental 
condition, intemperate use of drugs or alcohol, or chemical dependency and information regarding an individual’s criminal history is confidential 

to the same extent that information collected as part of an investigation is confidential under the Texas Occupations Code §301.466. 
 

NOTE: IF YOU ANSWERED “YES” TO #1-5 PLEASE REFER TO INSTRUCTIONS Revised 9/2017 



 

STATISTICAL CODES 

 
HIGHEST DEGREE: PRIMARY PRACTICE POSITION: 

 

1 = DIPLOMA 1 = ADMINISTRATOR OR ASSISTANT 

2 = ASSOCIATE DEGREE 2 = CONSULTANT 

3 = BACCALAUREATE IN NURSING 3 = SUPERVISOR OR ASSISTANT 

5 = MASTERS IN NURSING 4 = FACULTY/EDUCATOR 

7 = DOCTORATE IN NURSING 5 = HEAD NURSE OR ASSISTANT 

 6 = STAFF NURSE/GENERAL DUTY 

 *7 = NURSE PRACTITIONER 

APRN CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION: *8 = CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST 

 *9 = NURSE ANESTHETIST 

1 = NATIONAL BOARD ON CERTIFICATION AND *10 = NURSE MIDWIFE 

RECERTIFICATION OF NURSE ANESTHETISTS (NBCRNA) 11 = INSERVICE/STAFF DEVELOPMENT 

2 = AMERICAN MIDWIFERY CERTIFICATION BOARD (AMCB) 12 = SCHOOL NURSE 

3 = PEDIATRIC NURSING CERTIFICATION BOARD (PNCB) 13 = OFFICE NURSE 

4 = NATIONAL CERTIFICATION CORPORATION (NCC) 14 = RESEARCHER 

5 = AMERICAN NURSES CREDENTIALING CENTER (ANCC) 15 = OTHER: 

6 = AMERICAN ACADEMY OF NURSE PRACTITIONERS (AANP)   
7 = NOT CERTIFIED AS APRN BY ANY OF THE ABOVE * TEXAS BOARD OF NURSING APPROVAL REQUIRED 

8 = AACN CERTIFICATION CORPORATION 
 

 

PRIMARY PRACTICE SETTING: 

PRIMARY SPECIALTY: 

 

 1 = COMMUNITY/PUBLIC HEALTH 

1 = INPATIENT HOSPITAL CARE 2 = GENERAL PRACTICE 

2 = OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL CARE 3 = GERIATRICS 

3 = SCHOOL OF NURSING 4 = OBSTETRICS/GYNECOLOGY 

4 = COMMUNITY/PUBLIC HEALTH 5 = MEDICAL/SURGICAL 

5 = SCHOOL/COLLEGE HEALTH 6 = PEDIATRICS 

6 = SELF-EMPLOYED/PRIVATE PRACTICE 7 = PSYCHIATRIC/MENTAL HEALTH/SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

7 = PHYSICIAN OR DENTIST/PRIVATE PRACTICE 8 = ANESTHESIA 

8 = RURAL HEALTH CLINIC 9 = EMERGENCY CARE 

9 = FREESTANDING CLINIC 10 = HOME HEALTH 

10 = HOME HEALTH AGENCY 11 = INTENSIVE/CRITICAL CARE 

11 = MILITARY INSTALLATION 12 = NEONATOLOGY 

12 = TEMPORARY AGENCY/NURSING POOL 13 = ONCOLOGY 

13 = NURSING HOME/EXTENDED CARE FACILITY 14 = OPERATING/RECOVERY CARE 

14 = BUSINESS/INDUSTRY 15 = REHABILITATION 

15 = OTHER: 16 = OCCUPATIONAL/ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

  17 = OTHER: 

EMPLOYMENT STATUS: 

 
1 = EMPLOYED IN NURSING FULL TIME 

2 = EMPLOYED IN NURSING PART TIME 

3 = EMPLOYED IN OTHER FIELD FULL TIME 

4 = EMPLOYED IN OTHER FIELD PART TIME 

5 = UNEMPLOYED, RETIRED OR INACTIVE 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Revised 3/2016 



 

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 
(Do not return this sheet) 

 
 

Our records show you have authorization to practice as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) in the State of Texas. 
In order to maintain your APRN recognition, you must have a current RN license as well. To renew your APRN 
authorization(s) you must meet the requirements under 22 TAC §221.8, in addition to requirements in 22 TAC §§ 213.27 - 
213.29, 213.33,217.6, 217.7, and chapter 216, and pay the appropriate fee. There is no additional charge for more than one 
APRN authorization. There is no renewal fee for Prescriptive Authority. 

 
APRN RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS 221.8 (in addition to requirements in 22 TAC §§213.27-213.29, 213.33, 217.6, 217.7,    

and chapters 216 & 223.) 
 

1. You must pay the required recredentialing fee. Note: Failure to renew APRN authorization shall result in expiration of 
the Board's approval as an advanced practice registered nurse [Rule 221.8(b)]; 

2. You must have a minimum of 400 hours of current practice (within the preceding biennium) in each advanced 
specialty you are renewing; 

3. If you graduated from an APRN program after January 1, 1996, you must be currently certified by a certifying 
body recognized by the Board. 

4. You must meet the continuing competency requirements of Rule 216. You must hold current national certification, 
recertification, or completed certification maintenance requirements set by the respective national certifying body. 
If you are not required to be certified by 22 TAC §221.4(c), then you must have at least 20 contact hours of 
continuing education targeted for your advanced practice role and population focus area. If you have 
Prescriptive Authority, you are required to have an additional 5 contact hours of continuing education in 
pharmacotherapeutics. 

 
 

*The Board's APRN continuing competency requirements under Rule 221.8 are in lieu of RN required CE under Rule 216. 
Only 20 hours of CE are required. Category I Continuing Medical Education (CME) will meet requirements for 
continuing education. 

 

"A registered nurse who practices professional nursing or a vocational nurse who practices vocational nursing after the 
expiration of the nurse’s license is an illegal practitioner whose license may be revoked or suspended.” Texas Occupations Code 
§ 301.301(f). 

 
ACTIVE APPLICATIONS 

 
An application and payment are considered to be active for up to one year from the date of receipt in the Board’s office per our 
Records Retention Policy. All licensure requirements must be met within that year’s timeframe or the application and payment 
will be considered null and void. Should this occur, a new application and payment would need to be submitted; and the nurse 
will need to meet all current requirements in effect at that time. 

 

 
GRACE PERIOD 

 
Nurses who submit the timely renewal application and correct minimum payment, postmarked no later than the last day of the 
month the license is due to expire are exempt from TOC §  301.301(f)  and may continue to practice for a period of up to one 
month from the license expiration date while the renewal is in process. The Renewal Department will communicate with the 
nurse regarding any outstanding licensure issues (i.e. need for a TGSLC release letter, compliance with continuing 
competency audit etc.). If all renewal requirements are not met within the subsequent month, the license will be placed on 
delinquent status. 

 
During the grace period, the website will reflect that the license is current though the expiration date has passed.   The BON 
website will be updated to reflect the future expiration date once the renewal process is completed. A nurse who does not 
submit the timely renewal application and correct payment, postmarked on/before the license expiration date, must follow the 
delinquent renewal process and no grace period will apply. 

 
APRN CERTIFICATION FOR RENEWAL 

Board Rule 221.8 addresses the requirements that must be met in order to maintain licensure as an APRN. Board Rule 
221.8(a)(1) addresses the requirement related to maintaining national certification/recertification in order to be eligible to 
maintain the APRN license. 

 
 
 



 

 
CONTINUING COMPETENCY 

If this is the first timely renewal of your Texas RN license, RN CE requirements are waived. For any Texas APRN authorization 
less than two years old, the APRN renewal requirements (2) & (4) (as listed above) pertaining to CE and 400 practice hours are 
waived. 
NOTE: If APRN CE & 400 practice hours are waived, but your Texas RN license is beyond the first renewal, then you must 
have 20 hours of CE for your RN license. 

 

 
NAME CHANGE 

For name change, you must submit a copy of legal documentation, (e.g., marriage license, divorce decree, corrected 
driver’s license) which states the name change. 

 
 
 

 
 

RN/APRN INACTIVE STATUS 
If your RN license is current, you may be eligible to request inactive status. Check the appropriate box on the front of the 
renewal form, complete all applicable areas and mail the form to the Board’s address listed at the top of the renewal form. No 
fee is required. If you desire to re-enter the practice of nursing in Texas, you will be required to pay a reactivation fee 
and meet all current requirements in effect at the time you desire to re-enter the practice of nursing. Inactivating your RN 
License also inactivates all APRN and Rx Auth. Recognition(s). 



 

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 

(Continued - Do not return this sheet) 
 

 
RN/APRN RETIRED 

If your nursing license is in good standing with the Board according to Rule 217.9 (b), you may apply for RN/APRN retired 

status. Check the appropriate box on the front of the renewal form, complete all applicable areas and mail the form to the 

Board’s address listed on the top of the renewal form. A nurse whose license is in “retired” status may not practice as a 

nurse. If you desire to re-enter the practice of nursing in Texas, you will be required to pay a reactivation fee and meet all 

current requirements in effect at the time you desire to re-enter the practice of   nursing. 

 

 
RENEW ONLY RN LICENSE 

If you wish to renew only your RN license and do not want your APRN recognition(s) renewed, check the appropriate boxes on 

the front of the renewal form, submit the appropriate fee and mail the form to the address located at the top. Note: If you are 

renewing only your RN license, the 20 CE hours may be in RN content (Rule 216). 

 

 
APRN and/or Rx Auth. INACTIVATION(S) 

To inactivate your APRN and/or Rx Auth. recognition(s), check the appropriate box on the front of the renewal form, fill out 

other applicable areas of this form and mail it to the Board’s address. No fee is required. If you desire to reactivate an APRN 

and/or Rx Auth. recognition(s) you will be required to pay a reactivation fee and meet all current requirements in effect at that 

time. 

 

 
DELINQUENT/EXPIRED RENEWALS 

According to the Texas Occupations Code, §301.301(c), any application for renewal postmarked after the expiration date 

shall be charged a late fee. If your nursing license has expired then you may not use this form. You will need to download 
the applicable delinquent renewal form (http://www.bon.texas.gov/licensure_renewal.asp) There is no Grace Period for 
those nurses who postmark the renewal application and payment AFTER the license has expired. 

 

 
PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE 

 
Declaring a compact state, other than Texas, will cause your renewal to be rejected since you can practice in Texas on your 
declared compact state license. In addition, the BON reserves the right to seek clarification when needed. Per Rule 220.2(b), 
primary state of residence is determined by the following documents and you may be requested to submit one or more to satisfy 
residency requirements: 
 
(1) a driver’s license with a home address; 
(2) voter registration card displaying a home address; 
(3) federal income tax return declaring the primary state of residence; 
(4) Military Form No. 2058 - state of legal residence certificate; or 
(5) W2 from US Government or any bureau, division or agency thereof indicating the declared state of residence. 
 
 

For more information regarding the compact, visit our website at www.bon.texas.gov or the National Council of State 
Boards of Nursing’s website at https://www.ncsbn.org/nlc.htm.  

http://www.bon.texas.gov/licensure_renewal.asp
http://www.bon.texas.gov/
https://www.ncsbn.org/nlc.htm


 

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS - Continued 
 

If you answered yes to questions 1-5 of the Eligibility Questions on page 2, you must provide the Board 

with the following information: 

 

*QUESTION #1 The Board has determined that criminal behavior is highly relevant to an individual’s fitness to practice 

nursing. Therefore, all criminal convictions or deferred orders, prosecution, or adjudication-a determination by a court that is 

withheld or delayed for a specific time period, must be reported to the Board. This question includes offenses under the law 

of another state, federal law, or the Uniform Code of Military Justice that contains elements of criminal conduct. SUBMIT a 

personal letter of explanation describing each incident, the behavior that led up to the criminal order and your conduct since 

the order, and any rehabilitative efforts that have been performed since the order. In addition, SUBMIT the following 

documentation for all felonies, all misdemeanors, and all military actions: 

 
Certified copies of: 

1. charges (indictment, information, or complaint); 

2. disposition of charges (Judgment, Order of Probation, Sentence, and/or Deferred orders); and 

3. evidence that the conditions of the court have been met. 

 
(To obtain this documentation, contact the county clerk in the jurisdiction where the order was issued for misdemeanors; 

district court clerk for felonies.) 

 
You may answer “NO” to the question of prior convictions only if you: (a) received a pardon; or (b) were adjudicated as a 

minor without a finding of “delinquent conduct”. If you were ever required to register as a sex offender, you must answer 

“YES”. 

 
If you have questions regarding the outcome of any criminal matter, consult your attorney. 

 
*QUESTION #2 The Nursing Practice Act provides that a person’s conduct in violation of the Nursing Practice Act or rules of 

the Board may be considered as a factor in its deliberations regarding fitness to practice nursing. Therefore, if a licensee or 

applicant is the subject of a grand jury or governmental agency investigation, the information regarding conduct or behavior 

giving rise to the investigation may be relevant in determining a violation of the Nursing Practice Act or lead to the 

admissibility of relevant evidence of such violation. If you are the subject of a grand jury or governmental agency 

investigation, please SUBMIT the name and address of the investigating entity and an explanation as to the basis of the 

investigation. 

 
QUESTION #3 The Board has determined that if any licensing authority has taken disciplinary action against a person for 

any reason, then those actions are highly relevant to an individual’s current ability to practice nursing in the state of Texas. If 

any licensing authority has refused to issue a license, revoked, annulled, cancelled, accepted surrender of, suspended, 

placed on probation, refused to renew a license, certificate, or multi state privilege held by you or previously fined, censured, 

reprimanded or otherwise disciplined you, SUBMIT the names and address of the licensing authority who has taken action 

and a letter explaining the background of the action. Additionally, SUBMIT certified copies of: 

 
1. formal charges or allegations supporting the licensure action; 

2. final disposition of the licensing authority regarding those formal charges or allegations; and 

3. evidence that the conditions of the licensing authority’s order or requirements have been met. 



 

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS - Continued 

 
*QUESTION #4 The practice of nursing requires current fitness. The Board has identified certain disorders which, if 

occurring within the last 5 years, may indicate a lack of fitness. The disorders are: schizophrenia and other psychotic 

disorders, bipolar disorder, paranoid personality disorder, anti-social personality disorder, or borderline personality disorder. If 

you have been diagnosed, treated, or hospitalized for any of the above illnesses within the last 5 years, which impaired or 

does impair your behavior, judgment, or ability to function in school or work, submit the following information that will allow 

the Board to conduct an individualized assessment of your ability to practice safely, competently, and without impairment to 

your professional judgment, skill, or knowledge. 

 
1. A report, on letterhead, from your physician, psychiatrist, psychologist or counselor, sent directly to this office, that 

includes: your diagnosis; treatments rendered; including current medications; prognosis; cognitive, affective, and 

emotional stability and continuing after-care recommendations, including reasonable accommodations needed to 

safely practice nursing, if any; and, 

2. Verification of compliance with aftercare recommendations. 

 
Please be advised that a physical/psychological evaluation may be requested as part of your individualized assessment. 
The evaluation process is described in more detail at www.bon.texas.gov/disciplinaryaction/eval-guidelines.html. 
The evaluation process could potentially delay consideration of your renewal. Therefore, the Board is providing advance 
notice of this possibility so that applicants may contact the Board to schedule an evaluation at the beginning of the renewal 
process. By doing so, the renewal should not be unduly delayed. An applicant is not required to contact the Board in advance 
of Board consideration of the renewal. The applicant may choose to wait for a specific decision by the Board that a specific 
evaluation is necessary. This information is being provided to put applicants on notice with respect to this potential 
requirement and afford the applicant the opportunity to expedite the process if he/she so desires. 

 
 

*QUESTION #5. The practice of nursing requires current sobriety and fitness. If you have been addicted to or treated for the 

use of alcohol or any other drug within the last five years, SUBMIT: 

 
1. verification of treatment for substance abuse sent directly to the Board from the treatment center; 

2. verification of compliance with aftercare recommendations; 

3. evidence of continuing sobriety/abstinence, for example, current support group attendance and random drug testing 

results; and 

4. a personal letter of explanation with sobriety date and plan for relapse prevention. 
 
 

 

 

*Pursuant to the Texas Occupations Code §301.207, information, including diagnosis and treatment, regarding an individual’s 

physical or mental condition, intemperate use of drugs or alcohol, or chemical dependency and information regarding an 

individual’s criminal history is confidential to the same extent that information collected as part of an investigation is 

confidential under the Texas Occupations Code §301.466. 

 
 

RN/APRN Renewal Form Checklist - (Do not return this sheet) 

 
   Checked type of renewal, RN or RN/APRN? (If you choose RN Inactive or RN Retired, your APRN and/or prescriptive 

authorization will be placed inactive) 

   Have you answered all the questions on the renewal form? 

   Have you signed and dated the renewal form? 

   Have you enclosed the appropriate fee? 

   Have you completed 20 hours of Continuing Competency that meet the criteria in 22 TAC Chapter 216 (if applicable)? 

   Worked 400 hours in advanced specialty since last renewal? 

   If applicable, renewing Prescriptive Authority? 

   If applicable, have you completed 5 hours of CE in pharmacology? 

   If applicable, have you enclosed a copy of the current national certification document? 

   Did you read the instructions regarding Primary State of Residence? Note: Declaring a compact state, other than 

Texas, will cause your renewal to be rejected. 

http://www.bon.texas.gov/disciplinaryaction/eval-guidelines.html

